Thread: Actually introduce myself

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Actually introduce myself

Hello Everyone!

I have been lurking and commenting for a while, but never really introduced myself.

My name is Jason, and I live on Vancouver Island , British Columbia. My occupation is "Forest Engineer", but I am currently recovering from a back injury/surgery. I am not exactly sure what has drawn me to making lightsabers, I assume it has something to do with boredom and painkillers. Videogames now bore me, as I prefer to waste my time on something I can make and hold.

My pre-injury hobbies included: Gardening, woodworking (Bow-making), Archery, fishing ,skateboarding and snowboarding, rock-hounding/lapidary, Beer making and all sorts of artistic endeavours. Most of these hobbies are not great on the back. My father is an electrical engineer, and always had a bunch of doo-dads and stuff on his work bench. I remember playing with the soldering iron when he wasn't looking.

There are so many inspirational builders on this site, it makes me strive for excellence. I never seem to be 100% happy with any of my builds, so I constantly make and upgrade new ones.

Eventually, I hope to learn a bunch of new skills, I hope to use this hobby as a fun platform to eventually create technologies related to my occupation. For whatever reason, I am more determined and driven to learn new skills when making something fun, as opposed to utilitarian.

This is a gateway hobby. "You have taken your first step into a much larger world".

How many people can honestly say, "I would never want to own a lightsaber"?

Yes, a real lightsaber would make my real job much easier!

Cheers
    -Whosle?
    Last edited by Whosle; 09-26-2017 at 12:00 PM.