Thread: Poll: Anakin AOTC ('02/EL) - convert? or no?

Default Poll: Anakin AOTC ('02/EL) - convert? or no?

Poll: what to do, what to do?

So I have an Anakin AOTC (2002, EL blade) in which the sound card has gone kaput, as is common with these sabers.
    I don't have a joe Jedi card lying around.

I entreat the council's guidance. Should I:
    1) rip out the EL blade and board, and do a full LED conversion with sound? (I know Tim's banker would prefer this option...
    2) keep the EL blade and cram a NB board into the hilt for sound?
    3) sell it and make it someone else's problem?
    4) a fourth, hitherto unexplored option? (Good word, "hitherto". Not used enough IMHO.)

I look forward to your opinions and reasoning on the subject. Thanks in advance!

Option 1 would give that saber the brightest blade and best sound. I'm not experienced with conversions, so I don't know how hard it would be.

Option 2: The power supply for EL and NB boards are not compatible. This would be a pain, and you'd get a much dimmer blade with EL than with a LED conversion.

Option 3: I don't have any idea what the resale value on the old EL sabers is looking like these days. More of the value is determined by the condition of the saber than by its rarity. If it's still in nearly pristine condition, with just the electronics going out, you might consider this. If it's worn, beat up, and generally well loved...I'd recommend upgrading it. If it's in great condition, do a price check on eBay to see if it's worth your while to sell it.
    We all have to start somewhere. The journey is all the more impressive by our humble beginnings.

http://led.linear1.org/1led.wiz for the lazy man's resistor calculator!
    http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com...e-to-Ohm-s-Law for getting resistor values the right way!