Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice on my plan

Default Advice on my plan

Greetings,

I'm completely new to the saber scene and my knowledge of electronics is pretty dismal, nevertheless I'd really love to take a stab at the process. I'd like to know If my concept is feasible at all and whether or not I have the required parts to make it a reality.
    The general idea is a ROTJ style hilt with the AV switch on the 4" Double female connector.

SaberBuilder_rendeblackr.jpg

MHS parts:

4" Double female threaded connector
    MHS "new style" Heat Sink V2
    Screw on LED blade holder style 8
    MPS Pommel style 3 v2
    MHS choke style 2
    MHS ribbed extension
    Machine AV switch hole

Electronics:

Rebel Star LED & MHS Heatsink Module
    2AA Battery holder
    16mm Anti Vandal Short Momentary Green Ring Switch
    20mA DynaOhm? Variable Resistor
    Dual 22 gauge wire (sold by the foot)

My main question is which resistor should I be using with the 2AA Battery holder and Rebel Star LED? Are there any other glaring issues here that I've overlooking.

I'd greatly appreciate any guidance on this.

Thanks

Maroon
    Last edited by Maroon; 01-28-2014 at 07:27 PM.

First, Welcome to the Forums. Now for my questions:
    What type of batteries (voltage) do you plan on using? That will help us figure out what type of resistor for the main LED you might use.
    Also are you planning on having sound in the saber?
    TCSS MODERATOR
    All n00bs READ these first (PLEASE)!!!:
    1. Forum Guidelines
    2. FJK’s “Down and Dirty” guide to Ohm’s Law

"Yeah, yeah, I've heard it all before... you want blindingly bright, super loud, running 1138 blinkies off of the cheapest sound card you can find AND you want all of it to run on a battery the size of a dime, and run for a very, VERY long time. That one cracks me up every time..."
    My email: fjk_tcss@yahoo.com

Quote Originally Posted by Forgetful Jedi Knight View Post