Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Purple!

Default Purple!

So, I've read a lot of threads regarding various ways to set up LED's for a purple blade, but considering I have zero experience with this kind of thing, I'm still very much lost. My original plan was simply to use a white Luxeon Rebel Star with a purple filter, but if at all possible, I'd like to try and go for an RGB mix or some such. I'm going to be acquiring a pre-wired Nano Biscotte soundcard and a 2 watt bass speaker running off a single 3.7v li-ion cell, so what would be my best option in terms of possible LED solutions? And does anyone have a wiring diagram or a tutorial on how to resistor said LED to get a nice purple? Bear in mind that I have no idea about any of this wiring in parallel vs in series stuff, so please be gentle and treat me like the uber noob that I am! *lol* I know enough to get the board and speaker wired up, but I still haven't figured out any of the more advanced LED tricks yet... hence my original plan to use a simple white LED with a filter. Help?

If you're going to use the NB and a single li-ion cell, you will NEED to run the RGB in parallel. Best recommendation is the tri-rebel RGB.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_wiring if you wanna read a bit. I can give you a quick description though.

Take the red wire that runs to your main LED and solder a splice into it, so that it forms a "Y" shape. Take one of the top arms of your "Y" and run it to the positive terminal of your Red Die, and take the other arm of the "Y" and run it to the positive terminal of your Blue Die. You will do the same for the black wire. Make a "Y" with the black wire, and connect the top arms to the negative terminals of your Red and Blue LED dice.