Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: how to determine suitable LEDs?

Default how to determine suitable LEDs?

I'm a newb, trying to learn as much info as I can before I embark on building my own saber.

One thing I noticed in my reading of this forum is that often times a particular LED will be deemed unsuitable for sabers. I can understand if their efficiencies are not very good, ie lumens/watt. You clearly want the most efficient, right?

So then why wouldn't this led be suitable? Granted its only white, but 430 lumens at 350mA is pretty good, no? I've seen posts about a P7 that produces 900 lumens at 3000mA. But that cree led I linked to is way more efficient. Is light output linearly additive? Can I put 3 430 lumen leds together to get over 1200 lumens at 1000mA? Or even just 2 together to get 860 lumens at 700mA is darn good, no?

The other things I would imagine are factors are heat, but as a corollary to efficiency, the more efficient a led is, the less heat it should produce right?

So what other considerations are there for determine whether a particular led is suitable?

Hey why lose all those lumins through a color filter. At the same size is the all powerful ssr-90. 2000 colorful lumins. Boyaca

http://www.luminus.com/content1517

Jedi Council Member cardcollector's Avatar
    Blog Entries

well, do you want it for a filter?

or for a white blade? The seoul p4 white is my personal favorite with a white blade.

If you are planning to use a filter, I would suggest you find a RGB alternative...
    Got a Question? There's a thread for that...
    ~Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.~Teddy Roosevelt

SollusVir everywhere else... FXsabers, Youtube, etc...

Oh, I just picked a led that seemed to have really good efficiency. I wasn't attached to the white. But it seems to me, if you could have a very efficient white led, then why not use a filter?