Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 1.25 sink tube Qui gon Tutorial

Default 1.25 sink tube Qui gon Tutorial

Firstly this is my first tutorial so forgive any mistakes.

I wanted to build a Qui Gon jinn style saber but I still wanted it to have a smaller diameter handle, all of the other sabers I have built are sink tube and I came up with the following idea.

A 1.25 sink tube forms the base of this saber, cut to size, I compromised a little on the length of the saber to get a compatible looking diameter, my first attempt would have looked too "stocky". The overall length of the saber is about 11' 3/4". I cut the sink tube to size and drilled and tapped the 1.25 sink tube adapters to take the 8/32 round head bolts.

Next was to make an overlay to look like the ridges on the prop. I searched the internet but couldn't find a template so I marked out my own on a sheet of printer label that I had printed a grid on. I studied all the pictures of the prop I could find to copy a shape for the template. I then stuck this on a 1 1/2" black plastic waste pipe. This overlay would cover the sink tube but not overlap on the adapters at either end.

Added Blade holder 18, Pommel 7 and pommel insert 7, and sent them of to be powder coated. The switch is a black slide switch brought from my local electronic store (Sorry Tim !) this would be set between the top ridge of the handle, just below where the red thumbscrew would sit. both positions are marked in the photos above. The outer shroud was cut from a piece of 1 1/2"