Thread: Fender guitars and basses.

Default Fender guitars and basses.

Ok, so I've been playing bass for about 8 years now. I bought a Mexican Fender P-bass in 2002 or 3 for $400. I know fender's prices have been steadily increasing for the last decade or so, but a Mexican fender bass is now $620!!!!! I bought a Jaguar bass 2 years ago for $650-700, they are now $940!!!!!! The Mark Hoppus sig was $490 when it came out back in like '01, it is now $940. What the hell's happening over there?? I mean, its good for my pocketbook because I'm now definitely not buying a new fender anytime soon, but there are kids out there who want a fender for their first or second (I did) and Fender is losing that market by pricing these so outrageously high. Anyone have anything to say about this? I know there are a few players on here.
    Alderaan shot first.

Being a bassist myself I would have to say they are going about selling stuff the wrong way, with other companies out making basses Fender should lower it's prices. Then they would get more money due to more people buying basses.
    New to the forum: READ, READ, READ! it's the best way not to get flamed.
    Time for a kirby dance <('-'<) (><) <('-')> (>'-')> (>'-'<)<('-'<) (><) <('-')> (>'-')> (>'-'<)

You do realize you are not paying that much for the guitar right? The guitar is cheap. What you are paying for is the Fender logos on it.

I don't know man...I play G&L...my 5 string cost me $1800.00 and my custom 4 string cost over $2000.00...and that was about 4 and 5 years ago...

KI-ADI-MUNDI on FX-SABERS.com

I always wanted to learn to play the bass. I had a Fender fretless a friend let me borrow, but when he moved, it went with him.
    The Saber Builder Dictionary
    Thread Index

Bu'r-akh Llyr : Kerestian Jedi Knight

I just picked up a Fender bass myself.

(I'm kidding! I know it's not real! Don't hurt me plzkthxbaiurcommand!)

Quote Originally Posted by acerocket View Post