Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: noob has question on direct driving leds...

Default noob has question on direct driving leds...

im building my first saber and am trying to direct drive a red lux 3 off of 2 aa batteries. i know in theory the luxeon wants 2.95v so 2 aa's make 3v and it should be golden. problem is led looks dim to me so i hooked up a multimeter with the led powered and it only reads 2.5v. im a complete electronics/wiring noob... but am i doing something wrong? ha, i dont even wanna mention the voltage/brightness problems when i hooked it up to the cheap hasbro soundboard, it need 6v to it just to get 2.75v out with the led in the circuit but the soundboard starting smelling burney any thoughts?

1. Check you connections.

2. Have you checked the resistance of the connections in your switch?

3. What gauge of wire are you using?

4. Check to make sure your batteries are fresh.

When I direct-drive a Lux III red with a 2AA pack:

* I read ~3.3v from the fresh cells
    * I read ~3.0v from the cells when they are under load (in this case, the Luxeon III)

2.5v = when Morbius said... #4.

If you put two packs together, you can double the runtime... if you wire it correctly.
    ~~ GREYTALE NOVASTAR (Writer, Director, Choreographer, Sound Designer, Actor, Saber Designer, Vocal Artist)
    ~~ Balance of Power, EP I: "Into The Lion's Den"
    ~~ Balance of Power, EP II: "Ashes of The Phoenix"
    ~~ The Crystal Focus Sound CD Compendiums... are HERE! ~~
    ~~ Nova & Caine's Staged Combat System... comin' SOON!
    ~~ Crystal Focus Wiring Guide

Are you using rechargeable AA's?

If so then your multimeter is reading correct, they are only 1.2v's per cell. With a full charge, could be putting up that 2.6v's.

Quote Originally Posted by Darth Morbius View Post
    1. Check you connections.

2. Have you checked the resistance of the connections in your switch?

3. What gauge of wire are you using?

4. Check to make sure your batteries are fresh.