Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Graflex Stunt Saber? Help?

Default Graflex Stunt Saber? Help?

so i'm new to the customizing a saber, but i plan on making a saber out of a Graflax. this is something that i want to be able to duel with if i feel like, so i dont think i'll make it an actual light up one, unless those can be used to fight... anyways to my question, is it possible to set up the graflex handle to hold a blade that goes all the way into the saber to make it more sturdy? most of the ones i've seen just have the blade go a couple inches into the hilt. any advice would be helpful. thanks.

just add, i did notice that this site is mainly for EL/LED sabers, so if they are able to withstand fighting, let me know.
    Last edited by chrisgomps07; 11-02-2008 at 01:44 PM.

Default graflex

The graflex has a plastic housing in it. Once that is removed, you get a hollow metal tube which you can build any way you like. You could, for example, fill the entire tube with a wooden dowel with a hole drilled in the center to hold whatever blade you plan on using. Or you could even have some type of mount custom machined.

The blade holders in the shop are pretty sturdy and when used with a blade retention screw, will hold the plastic blades pretty well. That setup will allow you to have an LED and electronics.

Quote Originally Posted by swear000 View Post
    The graflex has a plastic housing in it. Once that is removed, you get a hollow metal tube which you can build any way you like. You could, for example, fill the entire tube with a wooden dowel with a hole drilled in the center to hold whatever blade you plan on using. Or you could even have some type of mount custom machined.

The blade holders in the shop are pretty sturdy and when used with a blade retention screw, will hold the plastic blades pretty well. That setup will allow you to have an LED and electronics.