Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Crystal chambers

Default Crystal chambers

I'm very new to this, but really want to learn so please take it easy on me...I just saw that some people use real crystals! How does this work? Is it just for looks or does it have a pratical use? Also, I've never done any kind of electrical work before, so can some one tell me if the wiring required is easy to learn? I would hate to invest in a led kit and screw it up. What can I do to practice? Thanks!
    "You've failed, Your Highness. I am a JEDI, like my father before me..."

-Luke Skywalker, ROTJ

Council Member
    Jedi Council Member

The crystals are purely for looks. They provide no actual function. The artists of the visual dictionaries drew in focusing crystals above the power cells and it's been written in books that jedi and sith use crystals so people sometimes like to go the "extra mile" for realism.

For wiring: look at the tutorial forums below. Look for soldering videos online. If you want practice you're really just going to have to review those and play with some wire. Soldering is like the metal version of hot glue.
    RED LEADER Standing by!

Default Thanks!

Thanks for the quick reply! You guys are awesome!

-Luke Skywalker, ROTJ

Default hilt

It looks like you cut a hole in your hilt. I happen to have a few hole saws but square shaped chambers may require some dremel work. Then you can wire a LED under a quartz crystal or acrylic crystal (sold at TCSS shop). Install it in the hilt and throw a metal mesh and sink tube over it and..viola!

Council Member
    Sith Lord

There are some great soldering tutorials on utube (Erv has a great one!) Here is a link to his channel--->http://www.youtube.com/user/irvinplecter

P.s.- Practice and reading make perfect my brother!
    All n00bs READ these first (PLEASE)!!!:1. LDM's Basic Saber-build Step-by-Step Tutorial 1A. Maul's Saber Dictionary 1B. THREAD INDEX 1C. Econo Sound Diagrams