Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: First saber, a little confused

Default First saber, a little confused

Well my friends, I must say I'm a little confused. I received my luxeon k2 kit in the mail today along with my MHS hilt. I've soldered before, so I know how to do it *relatively* well (I'm no expert). I soldered the connections between the battery holder and the resistor and the switch without a problem, but when I tried to solder the ends of these to the LED I did have some difficulty. It wasn't a pretty job, but it looked like the connections were solid. When I put in the batteries and tried to turn it all on, nothing. So my first step is to try to resolder the connections, and I am moderately successful, but still no light. Next, I came to the forum here and made a relatively extensive search for this situation. The only reason I can see for why it wasn't working is that I somehow killed the LED. What would you all suggest as the next step?

Have you checked the polarity? Neg and Pos? Are you using any quick connectors? To me it sounds like you got your polarity mixed OR dead batteries, have you tried a fresh set?

I don't know...

If your NEW to TCSS READ HERE!! >>>>> http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com...d=1#post108682

Could you take a picture of how you have it set up? That would help us determine what might be wrong.

Wow, I feel stupid. You'd think that an astrophysicist and a fan of star trek could figure out to change the polarity. Thanks for the (now obvious) suggestion.

Did it work?

Also, to test an LED, you can briefly just "touch" the + and - leads from a "test" battery pack... just to be 100% certain the LED works. I always do this before installing an LED... gotta make sure it's WORTH wiring up, the little BAAAAAHSTURDS!

What is nice is wiring up a simple alkaline AA 3.0v test pack (1.5v x 2 = 3.0v). I use the ones with the "9v snap connectors", lol. Then I snap on a connector with leads that go nowhere and touch them to the LED.