Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Complete electronics newbie here...

Default Complete electronics newbie here...

...So keeping answers in layman's terms is appreciated.

So, I'm not looking at doing this immediately, but eventually I want to put lights and sound into my MHS saber I just ordered. I have two questions - besides what comes in a kit (I'm thinking Lux V, but not married to the idea), what do I need to MacGyver together the monstrosity that is the LED/soundboard/battery assemblage, partswise? (Also, would it be worth it, in terms of space, anyway, to use a battery pack instead of a 6-AA assembly?)

Remember, simple = n00b's friend. Don't want to burn down half the building or nothing because I screwed up and somehow crashed the ISS on my room or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Kant Lavar View Post
    ...So keeping answers in layman's terms is appreciated.

So, I'm not looking at doing this immediately, but eventually I want to put lights and sound into my MHS saber I just ordered. I have two questions - besides what comes in a kit (I'm thinking Lux V, but not married to the idea), what do I need to MacGyver together the monstrosity that is the LED/soundboard/battery assemblage, partswise? (Also, would it be worth it, in terms of space, anyway, to use a battery pack instead of a 6-AA assembly?)

Remember, simple = n00b's friend. Don't want to burn down half the building or nothing because I screwed up and somehow crashed the ISS on my room or something.
    Your realistic options are a Master replica soundboard or a Hasbro soundboard. MR will run you $50 to $100 depending on your luck, a Hasbro $5 to $20. Obviously you get what you pay for here

So when you have decided the route to go I suggest heading over to the tutorial section and reading through the piles of threads on these solutions. They will show you how to hook things up and will answer most of your questions and will show you what the remaining questions should be.