Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Christianity and Star Wars

Default Christianity and Star Wars

Last Sunday my there was a sermon at my Church where the reverend said Star Wars was sacriligiouse. I dont really know what to do, my Youth Minister has seen all my SW stuff nad he even asked if he could use the lightsaber in a lesson. I personally think that it is nonsense, but what does everyone here think about Star Wars and there religion?

Heres the best commetn Iv recieved on the other board.
    Originally Posted by JediG60racer
    Wow, just wow. All I can say is that preacher did an incredible disservice to all followers of Christ by making those statements about Star Wars. I question his theological education in making remarks of that nature.

I'm a pastor, been serving in ministry for 15 years. I've acted as youth pastor, music pastor, outreach pastor, teaching pastor, police chaplain, navy chaplain, marriage and family counselor, college/career pastor, young adults pastor, young marrieds pastor, connections pastor (lengthy boring description for that).

And I've been president of one of the most active Star Wars fan clubs in the nation, served in that capacity for 4 years. It's a movie with a lot of fans, myself included. Entertainment. If that preacher only entertains himself by sitting in a room by himself praying, then maybe he has a foot to stand on as far as condemning other people's methods of entertainment. Maybe. But if he so much as watches a football game or any sporting event, or watches TV, or reads books other than the Bible, than he has no place to make such remarks, for all of those fall into the same category he just placed Star Wars into.