Thread: New Jedi Padawan saying hello! :)

Default New Jedi Padawan saying hello! :)

Hello Everyone,

I met Erik today from the RPF and he suggested that I join up and learn from everyone here. So, thanks to Erik for recommending this place and thanks for letting me join up.

About me, I am a Youth Minister and grad student in Arkansas and am married with children. I basically have two hobbies: The Blade Trilogy by David Goyer starring Wesley Snipes, and Star Wars. LOL

This whole thing started with me collecting screen used movie props from the Blade Trilogy. I looked into buying a screen used Star Wars lightsaber and the only one out there was 200,000$! haha So, I watched the DVD extras and found out that the Return of the Jedi Green Luke Lightsaber was machined from Aluminum originally.

So, like anyone, I researched like crazy and decided that I was going to buy a Metal Lathe and make my own! If Lucas Film can do it, so can I! haha Really though, I am not selling anything, just making some for me, my wife, and my Youth Group for fun. And probably a LOT for me.

I haven't decided to purchase one particular brand or model just yet. I am not rich, Youth Ministers dont make much money at all. But I was hoping to get just the right machine to make really high quality replicas of my Return of the Jedi Luke Lightsaber. And then I plan on making a TON of customs for my costumes. (My wife and I are making our own Jedi costumes for several Costume parties coming up this winter... I am Obi Wan of course!!!!)

What I am going to do first is really read all the Forum I can and learn from other peoples posts and questions before I ask any questions. I have found that almost ever single question has been answered somewhere. LOL

Anyway, everyone please say hello! And tell me if you started with NO experience with Lathes and now you make INCREDIBLE ROTJ Luke lightsabers! haha Hopefully, others have done what I am doing.