Thread: Rando questions: Wire quality, recharge vs swapping batteries

Default Rando questions: Wire quality, recharge vs swapping batteries

Hi, all. I've searched around and have been compiling as much information as possible for my saber project but try as I might, there are still a couple topics that I either can't seem to find a clear answer to (possibly due to my own lack of understanding) or there's some debate on the matter and no clear winner. So I thought I'd ask a few of those questions here if that's alright. If you want, I can split them up into separate ones and find the appropriate threads, no problem just let me know.

Short background: I'm building an MHS v1 hilt, neo pixel, CFX saber. I have some soldering experience and have a hard time 'ramping up' with projects so I just dive right in (to mixed results). I have the shtokCustom blade-side pcb with the extra 5 leds, I would like to use a 16mm switch with a ring light, and *maybe* a lit momentary switch/accent light - I don't know if that matters but it's more lights and I'm asking battery questions.

I also plan on using the dynaohm resisters because a.) I suck at math, b. what if I need to change the type of battery.

1. Batteries: recharge port or not recharge port (that is the question) plus how much juice?

I started out thinking that the right thing to do was a single 18650 3.7v battery was the answer and now I don't know. A lot of the batteries have the JST connectors built in so that leads me to think that most people would recharge them. But other people say that's a huge pain (the charge time) so to use the button top kind with a battery holder so you can swap (which I guess means you'd have to design your chassis such that wasn't a huge deal. more on that later).