Thread: First Build Assist

Default First Build Assist

Hi everyone. This is my first build and actually my first-ever thread on here (so please be nice ). After many years of deliberating, I think I've settled on a good hilt design and I figured I'd run it by the forums to see if anyone has some suggestions or help for me.

So, from the pommel-up, we have:
    >MPS Pommel Style 3 V3 with a modification
    >4" Deep fluted double female threaded connector
    >A 3.5 or 3.7" blank machined into the Kenobi-style pineapple grenade grip with some modifications
    >MHS Choke Style 2
    >Male MHSv2 to Female MHSv1 Adapter
    >MHSV2 Blade Holder Style 3 with a modification.

The pommel mod would have one of the lobes partially machined off with a machined-down Kobold D-ring riveted in its place, while the upper grip blank would have a switch box installed on one side and a flat space on the other that I'd have engraved somewhere or another with "THE FORCE IS WITH ME, I AM ONE WITH THE FORCE" in Aurebesh. Alternatively I'd be fine with a custom-machined Kenobi grip/choke combo instead of using the blank and pre-machined choke. On the blade holder, on the shorter side of the "slant" I'd want an aesthetic Graflex-style "electrical port" with the two little prongs machined into it and I'd put a screw on the back end for a blade-retainer.

The whole thing would be powder-coated over in Translucent Brass, except for the lower grip which would use the textured copper option, and the choke using a medium-blasted finish to matte it before having a copper finish done over it too. All in all, I think it'll look really good and have a nice Old Republic style to it. Thing is, I have two issues on hand about this hilt: