Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Fett263's Korbanth Crossguard 2.0 Neopixel (Prizm 5.1)

Default Fett263's Korbanth Crossguard 2.0 Neopixel (Prizm 5.1)

Hi All,

I am new to the custom saber scene but a 20+ year veteran of SW costuming (501st) and props. I wanted to post about my first build to pay forward all of the great advice I read and received. Having never built a custom saber, and especially not a neopixel, I took my time and read up and asked questions of one of my Garrison members, and big contributors here, Megtooth Sith (Thanks Tom!). I went back and forth on in-hilt or neopixel and then ultimately just jumped in with both feet after reading up on the successes and difficulties others had here and elsewhere. Overall, it was not as difficult as I thought it would be but It was also full of trial and error, setbacks and problem solving.

While reading and deciding on my design I took my time and planned out what I wanted, and kept note of pitfalls and troubles others ran into to try to avoid any catastrophic mistakes.

Here’s the major parts I used:
    • Korbanth Crossguard 2.0 hilt
    • Prizm 5.1 sound board
    • Goth 3Designs Padawan Chassis Variant 1 Style 2
    • 18650 high drain battery
    • 28mm bass speaker
    • For connectors I went with GX-16 connectors for a few reasons (more below) with ShotkCustomWorx holders for the connectors
    • I picked up the skinny neopixels from China via a major online retailer
    • For my quillion blades I picked up 3D printed unstable blades from TheProplicator (I requested them to have a larger inner diameter to fit the neopixels and blade film and they came out great) I also picked up the unstable sleeve for the main blade to finish off the look
    • The rest is all the basics you’d expect

I’m using three different GX-16 connectors for my build; 5-pin, 4-pin and 3-pin.
    kr20180727_144253.jpg

Main blade is a 5-pin connector
    1. Positive (battery)
    2. L1, L2 from board