Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Korbanth K4 - A build log by a total N00b

Default Korbanth K4 - A build log by a total N00b

Korbanth K4 Build Log

By A. Noob.
    This is my first attempt at wiring my own saber for sound and light. My previous project was a partial conversion of a MR Vader which had a broken LED String so I wanted to be a bit more adventurous for my new project.
    I always liked the design of the Obi-Wan saber from ANH and when JQ Sabers got the Korbanth K4 in stock I decided to take the plunge.

This is my build process if anyone else is in the same position as I am in case
    1. It might help you
    2. You don’t make the same mistakes I did.

First of all, I planned my build by deciding which components I needed and how they were to be joined up.
    First, I needed to work out what resistors I needed. I was going for a BBW Tri-Cree which had the following specs.
    • 2 x Blue LED – 3.4 Volts at 1000ma
    • 1 x White LED – 3.15 Volts at 1000ma

Resistors:
    Blue
    (3.7-3.4)/1 = 0.3 Ohms
    (3.7-3.4)*1=0.3W
    White
    (3.7-3.15)/1 = 0.55 Ohms
    (3.7-3.15) *1 = 0.55W

I decided to put 0.47 Ohm 1W resistors on all the LEDs because it shouldn’t be too much of a problem for the White which was not going to be on constantly and was close to the requirements for the blue. Also, I got 10 off eBay for 99p.
    The next decision was the driver board. Due to the internal diameter of the K4, the only choice was the Nano Biscotte v4
    My electronic requirements were therefore decided as follows:

• Tri-Cree BBW
    • 3 x 0.47 Ohm 1W Resistors
    • 18650 Battery
    • Veco 20mm Speaker
    • 2.1mm Switchcraft recharge port
    • Lots of different colour 28 AWG wire. (I already had Black, Red, Blue, Green and Yellow from a previous project so I decided this would do.)
    • Heatshrink
    • Superglue

After several iterations and consultation, this is the wiring diagram I came up with:
    KKK4__Wiring_V2.jpg