Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Painting details on a saber

Question Painting details on a saber

Hello!

I am new to saber building and I had a question regarding painting details on my Graflex 2.0 saber. I am wanting to build a ROTS inspired Graflex and will be painting the lever on the clamp gold. I bought some Testors enamel metallic gold paint but wasn't sure what else I would need. I have read about painting aluminum and I know I will need to either use sandpaper to scuff it up and/or primer and also a top coat. Because it is a small area on the Graflex I did not want to use a spray can. I am not sure where or how to start. Any advice is much appreciated!
    Last edited by Skywalker; 11-08-2017 at 12:26 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Skywalker View Post
    Hello!

I am new to saber building and I had a question regarding painting details on my Graflex 2.0 saber. I am wanting to build a ROTS inspired Graflex and will be painting the lever on the clamp gold. I bought some Testors enamel metallic gold paint but wasn't sure what else I would need. I have read about painting aluminum and I know I will need to either use sandpaper to scuff it up and/or primer and also a top coat. Because it is a small area on the Graflex I did not want to use a spray can. I am not sure where or how to start. Any advice is much appreciated!

Any thoughts?

well, dealing with painting on other items than sabers that happen to be metal.

I would ask "what are you looking for from the gold"?

to be mirror like? anodized (looks transparent but not as reflective)? or matte?
    Also if you use a adhesion promoter, that would be better than mechanical (ie scuffing/sanding) abrasion.

scuffing/sanding will get amplified by any metallic color (especially if the flakes are smaller).
    I always use airbrush to do most painting from the full paint to very fine details (I have 5 airbrushes for airbrush work). This will give you the smoothest application on all parts.