Thread: 18650 Battery Question

Default 18650 Battery Question

Hello All

Is the TrustFire 18650 battery in the TCSS shop a Protected Li_Ion? All the other protected batteries seem to have a JST connector and and some sort of outer coating.

Also I am new to Li-Ion batteries so I am looking for information on why a recharge port is better than using a battery holder and external charger?

Is the battery holder dangerous in some way?

Thanks in Advance

Quote Originally Posted by hutch009 View Post
    Is the battery holder dangerous in some way?
    No; just inconvenient. Every time you need a fresh charge, you have to open up the saber and pull out the chassis, possibly remove the skin of the chassis, and so on. And every time you move the chassis you take the risk that you mess up the wiring -- though that's a small risk if you've designed it properly. On the TCSS YooToob channel, there are two videos about chassis, and Rob talks a little about the plusses and minuses of doing it each way.

If you plan on duelling, the battery can move within the holder causing the board to reboot and as Jenny says repeatedly opening the hilt could cause stress to wiring and unnecessary wear and tear. On the plus side, if you're at a con, you wanna be able to swap batteries out rather than find a power source and wait for charging.

Greenie

Quote Originally Posted by Greenie View Post
    If you plan on duelling, the battery can move within the holder causing the board to reboot and as Jenny says repeatedly opening the hilt could cause stress to wiring and unnecessary wear and tear. On the plus side, if you're at a con, you wanna be able to swap batteries out rather than find a power source and wait for charging.

Greenie
    Thanks for the reply

Is there a way to stabilize the chassis/battery holder inside the hilt to keep it from moving around?
    Also I want to know if the Trustfire brand battery actually has the protection PCB installed in it.

Thanks in Advance