Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: First Timer Build - "Balance"

Default First Timer Build - "Balance"

I am a first time builder, so don't be too harsh, but I have the exterior "done" (with the exception of the pommel I am waiting to get back in stock).

I call this "Balance" because I wanted an asymmetrical design that felt visually balanced. Kind of like how in nature, nothing is symmetrical, but everything is in balance. This is probably for a grey Jedi who is reaching out past the narrow mindset of the Order.

In any case, I wanted to go big and stretch what I could do with my meager hand tools. In case I only did one, I wanted it to be something unique. But, I am bitten by the bug now, so money pending, this will only be the beginning. Already planning #2 and don't even have this one done yet.

This is a pure MHS build with a hand-cut shroud over Blade Holder 1, a 3" fluted extension and a 6" double-female. Just waiting on Pommel style 7 to finish it out.
    The black grips are in-laid ultrasuede and the copper color is Dupli Color Copper Plating. The kids wanted it super weathered (even more than this), but I toned it down a bit, so I think I struck a balance, though I am not 100% happy with everything (are we ever?).
    Attached Images Attached Images

Great job on your first!

I like it! how did you attach the leather? Is it just glued on? You said it was "in-laid"?

Quote Originally Posted by minorhero View Post
    I like it! how did you attach the leather? Is it just glued on? You said it was "in-laid"?
    Thanks.