Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Help!

Default Help!

I did not know where to put this thread, so I put it in the misc topics. Hi, everyone, my name is Conner. I am having a bit of trouble with my saber. I am relatively new to the saber scene, so any help is appreciated. Here is the problem: I finished wiring all of my saber yesterday and when I turned it on, the LED works (I am using a Red/Red/White Cree XP-E2 CopperNova) but when I attached the blade (It is a 1" Thick walled Trans Red PolyC 40" long) it wasn't nearly as bright as it should be. I used a 16mm Anti Vandal Short Momentary Red Ring Switch, and I wired it to the same places as the led, but the light ring on the switch wasn't bright enough either. I used a 1 ohm 10 watt resistor (I tried a lower wattage but 10 was the only one I could find) and a Li-Ion 18650 3.7V 2600mAh PCB Protected Rechargeable Battery Module for the power source. I made sure the battery was fully charged and I didn't see any bad or bridging soldering joints. Is there any reason why the led wouldn't be bright enough? Am I using the right resistor?

Also, when I turned the saber on, the speaker made a little bit of noise, but it was muffled and very quiet. I could distinguish ignition sounds and clash and swings, but I could barely hear it. It is just a normal 2W 28mm Bass Speaker. Any help is appreciated! Please help! Thanks

Hi Conner and welcome to the forums.
    Could you let us know what sound board you are using, and maybe some pics of your wiring? Have you made any changes to your SD card? Also what resistor did you use on your AV switch?

Normally for Cree reds I'll use 1ohm, 2 watt resistors, 1 for each led. The store has some here http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/1o...istor-P21.aspx
    Also keep in mind that thick walled blades will not be as bright as the thin. Don't worry I'm sure we will get it sorted out, sounds like you are most of the way there already.

-Darkmatter73

Blog Entries