Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wiring check; externally driven Lightsaber

Default Wiring check; externally driven Lightsaber

Hi!

Since the recharge ports are also available in smaller sizes I thought about putting 3 more in the bottom or side of my saber and build a stand with the plugs connected to an external driver. In theory that should decouple the LEDs from the CF/PC (not sure about it) and drive them in series from my pwm driver in the stand. Part time light saber part time lamp .
    However I am not an electronics engineer and we only coverd so much electronic basics in school so please look over the wiring diagram and tell me if I got this straight or not.

Link [Edit: New diagram with normal LEDs]

Thanks in advance!

P.S.: The LEDs in the diagram are 2b in series, 1g & 1w FoC via the CE.
    Last edited by rumlyne; 06-17-2016 at 12:31 AM. Reason: Error in diagram; Smart-LEDs

What a cool idea.

One thing I notice is you don't have resisters on your diagram.

You listed the leds as "SmartLEDs" was this a software only reference or are you actually using NeoPixles? I ask because the NeoPixles require the drivers built into arduino style boards. Because of the specific type of coading being provided to the LEDs onboard chip the CF/PC will most likely not control them properly. Never tried it though so who knows.
    Last edited by FenixFire; 06-16-2016 at 01:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by FenixFire View Post
    You listed the leds as "SmartLEDs" was this a software only reference or are you actually using NeoPixles? I ask because the NeoPixles require the drivers built into arduino style boards. Because of the specific type of coading being provided to the LEDs onboard chip the CF/PC will most likely not control them properly. Never tried it though so who knows.
    ^ this.

Please explain what these 'smart leds' are?

Your 'lamp' base would work if it had a microcontroller in it (ie: Arduino as mentioned) and would be dead simple.