Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: RGB String Blade WIP

Default RGB String Blade WIP

I've been pondering the concept for a little while now of how an RGB string blade could work. I'm a fan of the consistency of string blades, but have been pondering how I could get the full use out of more advanced boards, like the CF.

Basic LED blades usually require a ladder of LEDs, but how could that work with 4 legs? I'm still pretty new to string blades in general, so this is definitely going to be a work in progress, and not a build log.

The legs are not trimmed or reinforced at all at this point, they are simply bent and crimped together.

I've become fond of crimping as far away from the joint as possible to create a hinge, which allows the LED to move around. I then weave a very high gauge wire to keep consistent contact up and down the string while keeping that flexibility. I've had very good success with this process and made blades that can go into the heaviest duels with no issues. I'm not sure how well this "hinge" concept will work with 4 legs, because they're going in 4 different directions, creating more of a cage than a ladder. Just playing with it I can feel a little big of flex. Hopefully this will give my blades the kind of resiliency I've been able to develop in the past.

RGB String Blade - Google Photos

Last edited by CET; 06-02-2016 at 09:07 PM.

Images did not come through. I wonder if there would be a way to make a Thin polypropylene ladder structure that would "lock" the LEDs in place, then solder thin gauge wire between the connectors. Then still clear or translucent white heat shrink over them. I know I saw a product that did this several years ago, but can't think of what it was in. Or if one could build their own smd led based string on a flexible board like the 12v strips...obviously this would require 2 strips back to back.

Quote Originally Posted by FenixFire View Post
    Images did not come through.