Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Blade Holder

Default Blade Holder

Hello,

this is my first build and since none of the blade holders from the TCSS convinced me (I'm sorry...) I got some neat stuff as Emitter and hilt parts from a flea market.
    And now I'm wondering what would be the best way to make it into a good blade holder.
    This is what I found:
    IMG_20160206_1550082.jpg
    The red lined thing (an old part of a lamp) is a little under 2'' long.
    It becomes very thin at the end (ca. 0,3'' ID) and therefore I guess I need to fit the LED, heatsink etc. into this piece alone because otherwise the LED+lens would be much dimmer when shining through this tiny hole into the blade, I guess? My idea was to 3D print (plastic) a blade holder to fit into the piece and secure it with the retention screw. But I'm not completely sure whether this will work. Maybe you could help me with some questions that bother me?

1.) All the blade holders from TCSS (except for 17) are about 2'' long. If I need to fit the LED, heatsink etc. into my 2'' long piece I obviously won't have 2'' for the blade to secure. Unfortunately I don't know how much place the LED, heatsink etc. will take. Do you think the remaining place will be enough to secure the blade?

2.) Or since the heatsink module is apparently .994" OD is it save to put it into the blade into the blade holder?

3.) Or is it possible to have the LED without the heatsink to have less place taken away?

4.) Do you think a 3D printed blade holder (plastic) with a blade retention screw would be strong enough to hold a blade? Or would the screw slowly cut through the plastic of the holder or something like this?

Or maybe do you have a better solution that I couldn't come up with?

If this is important: I would like to have a stunt saber with which I can do some tricks and duell a little. :>

Thank you very much in advance!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by dese; 02-07-2016 at 07:47 AM.