• You're jedi-genious

0 0%
  • what just happened?

4 80.00%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: meditations on saber 01-01

Default meditations on saber 01-01

Hello.

I am pretty new to saber building, so new in fact I don't have any parts yet (which is a good thing for me right now), and I have run into my first technical hitch and I would like your opinions on my theoretical solution!

I wanted to cast aside tradition and build a saber with a mid-mounted 28mm bass speaker oriented towards the blade, with an MHS choke (ventilated of course) as the sound path (using a partial shroud as a resonance chamber). However, using the MHS speaker mount conventionally would basically end the wiring continuity from that point on, meaning the LED board would be cut off from literally everything else inside. As well as this, it would collide with the 16mm AV main switch. I did think about routing out areas of handle and pushing the cabling outside under the shroud, but given the number of threaded sections that would have to line up through the cuts, I deemed this method no good. My second idea was to revert to tradition and put the speaker into the hilt, sacrificing all my genious!!! This would be the top solution but the pommel plate I'm gunning for is a mount for both a recharge port and RICE port, so there needs to be space again for wires this way too. I considered swapping the middle hilt section around to have the buttons at the very end of the saber, but it felt weird and un-ergonomic.