Thread: Of course this is my First Post!

Default Of course this is my First Post!

Oh yeah, its another one of those "Newbie here!" threads you all love so much!

Long timer lurker, first time poster! I didn't think I'd sign up, but I changed my mind- theres just too much good info on this site!

How it started:

My friend and I both wanted to go in full costume for the -first time- for the release of VII. I improvised some cheap black cloth, bought a $15 black robe, and made myself an "Acolyte" outfit. For the cost, it looks great but is by no means up to par with most peoples costumes

Then we got a little more interested in Sparring, and came across sparring-level Sabers. We thought it would be fun to grab two and duel outside the theater (With the managements permission!), but the price, wait time and the companies we were looking at in particular had some very sketchy wording regarding their warranty- it was enough for me to say "Look lets build some basic sparring sabers that glow, and go from there."

So, we saw the movie opening night. Zero wait time. No lines. Sixteen people TOTAL in our auditorium. Great time, we may as well have had the theater to our self. I made two hilts, a Saber and a Shoto. Both are too small for electronics, but they were designed to pass through security in light of a few companies banning prop sabers. No one batted an eye, the Officer on duty even gave me a grin and a "Carry on" nod. They have since been retired, the Saber will be stripped for parts and the Shoto will remain as a functional bottle-opener and a memory of this event.

I enjoyed it so much, that I had to have a saber to go with my robes, right? But I wasn't ready to drop $300+ for a saber with sound, or even more if I got a staff-saber like I want.

But I'm hooked. I want to get a saber for my outfit, and go from there.

So where I'm at: