Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: First build - Custom Saber from scratch.

Default First build - Custom Saber from scratch.

Ok, so with the new Star Wars movie coming out and my love of building things, I wanted to build a light saber. So, I asked my industrial design professor if I could build one for my final project in my Advanced Prototyping and Manufacturing class. His answer was a resounding "H*** YES"!!! I'm very new to the saber building scene, but I knew that I wanted to build mine from scratch. At my university, I have access to Bridgeport style mills and a few floor lathes. Ive had enough experience on these machines to feel confident that I could build one. After browsing the web and a few sketches in my sketch book, I honed in on a design/form factor that appealed to me. At this point, I must give an acknowledgement and a shout out to Rob Petkau at Genisiscustomsaber.com, the style/design I went with was inspired by his Corren Horn light saber.

This lightsaber is still under construction.
    Currently its it about 90% completion (its functional, but needs a few kinks and finishing touches added.)
    I'll post more when I get further along.

(Also, I'm by no means a professional machinist. You may see some setups and tooling methods that are unconventional and not necessarily what should be done. I tried to accomplish this lightsaber with the tools, fixtures and understanding that I have. Just about every step thing I did was done for the first time. I did do practice passes and test piece through out, because I only made one of each piece/component and I was a on tight deadline.)

(Lastly, I'm not an Industrial Design student, im working on my architecture degree and im not good at sketching, so be gentle...)

After buying all the electrical components and the blade, I got to work with the sketching...
    IMG_5026.jpgIMG_5028.jpgIMG_5030.jpg

This design is the one I went with.
    IMG_5031.jpgIMG_5032.jpg