Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Is This Even Possible?

Default Is This Even Possible?

Im giving my self a decent amount of time here but as a broke college student it's kind of tough. My girlfriend and I have been together for 4 years now. Our 5th anniversary is in September. She had never seen ANY of the Star Wars films previous to meeting me and i finally got her into it by taking her with me to see Episode 7. She left the theatre saying "Thats probably one of the best movies i've ever seen, can we watch the others".

Now, for our 5 year anniversary I really want to build her a custom Lightsaber. Only issues are obviously i'm a broke college student so i don't have a ton of expendable funds (although i'm willing to pay for quality, and the MHS system seems to be quality!) Another problem is i have 0 knowledge in ANY kind of metal working, or electronics and i don't have or even have access the tools to do any kind of metal working. Is it even possible to make a decent looking lightsaber without that kind of knowledge/access to those tools? Im sure for the sound and LED's i can work my way around it with tutorials and whatnot but i want the hilt to turn out really nice as it's a gift.

Hello there, welcome to the party. If you're buying MHS parts, metalworking will probably not be an issue
    You may need to do some soldering although parts and modules can be bought with jst connectors and will just plug in. If you haven't already, check out the MHS builder to help you design the saber you want and Madcow's tutorials on YT are invaluable. Reading and research on these forums will give you answers you seek and if not, we are a friendly bunch and can help along the way. So, yes, building a saber for your girlfriend is very doable

Oh and please don't let her watch in chronological order. IV, V, VI first then I, II, III. That way the prequels won't spoil the revelations in the originals.

Good luck with your build and MTFBWY