Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Build Log: NanoRex's Personal Saber (First MHS build w/ CFv7.5)

Default Build Log: NanoRex's Personal Saber (First MHS build w/ CFv7.5)

Hello, fellow saber builders!

I'm NanoRex, or Rex for short, and I've been lurking on this forum for a good few months, researching, researching, and researching, and I finally feel like I'm ready to start work on my first saber. Here is a Photoshop drawing of the hilt:

The design is inspired by many of the works by Madcow of Genesis Custom Sabers, fragrax from the FX-Sabers forum, slothfurnace, and various others.

I'm no noob when it comes to designing functional things and problem solving, so I decided to take on a fairly ambitious project. Unfortunately, I have little to no access to metalworking machines (not to mention I have zero experience with machining) so I will ask Tim to do the sleeve for me, and drill/mill the holes and slots in the MHS parts.

I plan on doing a video build log as well, which will be posted when the build is done

Okay, now on to the details. This saber will represent my personal lightsaber as if I were a Jedi. Therefore, I have opted to style this saber similarly to sabers seen in the movies (with the exception of the addition of a bar graph), and tried to make it seem 'realistic' if you will.

Plans for features:
    • Crystal Focus v7.5 (EDIT: Later revised to CFv7.5 + CEx)
    • 7.4V 14650 1050mAh li-ion pack (EDIT: Later revised to a custom 7.4V 18650 3400mAh pack)
    • 2.1mm recharge port
    • Madcow-style dual tactile switches
    • Tri-Cree B/rB/W (EDIT: Later revised to Quad Cree R/G/B/rB)
    • 2W bass speaker
    • 6 or 7 segment LED bar graph mounted on a PCB from cardcollector (Calvary Custom Sabers) (EDIT: Later revised to 4 segment bar graph)
    • Illuminated crystal chamber with aqua aura quartz crystal and reveal mechanism