Thread: Darth Talon Design

Default Darth Talon Design

First time posting, first time making a lightsaber

I'm a designer by trade and have a start-up where I design and fabricate a variety of projects. I've been commissioned to create a custom lightsaber, to which I gladly accepted without realizing that it happens to be a very complex design: Darth Talon's. However, I don't back down on a challenge. I come to the forum for advice and to make sure i'm heading in the right direction. First off, i'm aware that there already is a thread dedicated to someone making a Talon's hilt found here. I'm using that thread as a basis for the construction. I just want to make sure i'm heading in the right direction as this is my first venture in making a lightsaber.

First off, since the hilt will be fully custom to emulate the Yorik coral it will have to be made out of epoxy or polyurethane materials. It was suggested to use silver Apoxie Sculpt because of its silver base and long work time but i'll look into possibly making a mold out of silicone and cast a solid around the pipe. I could use aluminum powder in the mix then using a variety of finishes in post. Looking into a Smooth-on product since we work with those most often.

I'm opting to use a 1-1/4" PVC construction: 1'-0" long PVC tube, male adapter and threaded cap. The adapter will be bonded with PVC cement and permanently affixed to the tube. The cap would screw on to the adapter and would be removable to replace the LED battery when needed, also to act as the main port to service the interior workings of the blade if anything happens.

IMG_5209.JPG

At this point i have the base and the finish pretty much set. It's the guts that i'm a little lost with. This is what I've gathered I need: