Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hi Folks

Default Hi Folks

Hi guys, nice to meet you all.

My names Skyler, I've jumped around all sorts of forums related to DIY sabers before and always enjoyed the idea of making one. I'm a college student who likes making things with my own hands, with machine shop and electrical experience, and I was already making plans on possibly a large group saber crafting project. Yesterday ago I got a message from the president of my schools Machine Shop Club, and he said when I pitched the idea of us all making Sabers he liked it so he wants to see about running that as our club project and we are starting to make them in the next week. So now I took the plunge and joined, and looking at this forum structure I was wondering if someone could help me start figuring out where and how I can ask all the right questions since I'm going to all of a sudden become the go to guy for people if they have questions. Sorry if some of the questions here seem a bit like I'm being lazy, I'm just trying to quickly absorb as much details as possible before I need to give a rough outline to the group tomorrow so I may have overlooked a few obvious things here. I figure I'll give you a rundown of what I'm wondering so hopefully you guys can help me figure out what forums I should be looking and/or expanding on my questions. For people who wanted to just stop bye and say hi you can skip the rest, its great to meet you all!

Us
    As our club is a machine shop club with a lot of mechanical engineering students, most with 2-3 years of experience with hands on projects under their belt, and we have access to a full featured machine shop (but a small funding pool) available to us, I highly suspect we are going to start with far more basic building blocks for our sabers than most other project. I am almost definitely sure we are all going to want to machine our own hilts and handles, and luckily we have a nice line up of stock and small hardware to work from.