Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Design for my next PVC saber

Default Design for my next PVC saber

here is the design i have been working on for my next saber. i plan on using PVC since i have most of the items i need to complete it, except for some of the electronics. Also this is my first time using Autodesk 123D to render a saber in 3D. comments welcome

pvc saber.jpg

Blog Entries

Cool another 123D user.

saber looks good. Nice and simple. It does feel a bit short proportionally. Is that your intent?

Saber looks good.
    I'm impressed you were able to get 123D to work. I've had no success... Then again, I can't get Sketchup to work either.

It took me hours of playing sith it to figure it out. Yeah it is a bit short. I want the toral length about 10".There wont be sound so don't have to worry about space. Still not sure if this will be the design I actually use.
    Last edited by Thalan the Exiled; 09-01-2015 at 06:25 PM.

ok so i have been playing around with 123D and i think i have a design i really like. now the color scheme is probably not gonna end up like in the photo since it will be hard to get PVC to look like copper. But i will try to find a way to get it as close as i can because i think this one looks very slick. it is simple and sithy and i love it. With a amber or red/orange blade i think this will be a winner

1.jpg

Nice renders and design! I like the newest concept too, very Sithy. For the copper, you could try a spray enamel paint like Testors makes, I've used Testors Mettalic Copper 1251T before on models before with very good shiny results. Or you could pick up some hobby-sized copper sheets at a hardware store like Lowes and shape them around the PVC, hiding the seam somehow within the design. Might be easier with the paint though.

Wish I could render a shiny blade as well. If someone knows how to do that let me know

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Thalan the Exiled View Post