Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 2nd Lightsaber Need Help Wiring Tri-Cree LED

Default 2nd Lightsaber Need Help Wiring Tri-Cree LED

Hello there! I am a bit new to the saber scene, and I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I am making my second lightsaber out of one 18650 3.7v 2600mAh battery, with a guarded switch, three 1 ohm 2w resistors, and three white Cree LEDs on a single star with an 18 deg tri LED star lens. I am having trouble understanding how to wire the resistors and LEDs overall, and how they connect to the battery/switch. If someone could post a link to a tutorial of wiring a tri-star LED in series for a saber, I would be very grateful!
    Last edited by SaberScorch; 07-26-2015 at 06:42 AM.

I just finished wiring my tri cree, and you'll find that it's not as difficult as it may seem. Since you're using three whites, I'm going to assume you're running all of these parallel. If that's the case, I'd wire positive and negatives to their respective pads, then join all of the positives into one wire. Do the same with the negatives. Then, wire all of the spliced bits to two long wires: one positive and one negative. This may seem a bit confusing, so if you want me to post a picture of what I did (all of my dyes work), I'd be happy to show you. Also, since this will be your first tri-star, get three resistors (since you're using all whites, the same ohm and wattage resistor will be fine), and wire them onto each respective positive wire before splicing.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Elegance doesn't compromise functionality.

Thank you so much! It would be very helpful if you could upload a photograph. I will be sure to upload a photo of mine when it is completed (If it ever is)! I have chosen three 1 ohm 2w resistors, but where would the resistors go? I have not ordered yet as I am trying to plan this out before I make my purchase.
    Last edited by SaberScorch; 07-26-2015 at 07:34 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SaberScorch View Post