Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: First Build: Getting a Bright Enough Saber (purple filter) with a LED Hilt Blade

Unhappy First Build: Getting a Bright Enough Saber (purple filter) with a LED Hilt Blade

Hey Everyone, I am extremely new to this and need some general and specific advice. I know that these are very beginner-level questions, so please point me in the right direction if this is the wrong place to post.

I'm working on my first build, these are the parts I bought:

Luxeon Rebel Star (White)
    Shouldered 1" thin walled blade tip with reflective disc
    BuckPuck 1000mA 6-wire
    12 Colored Discs 1
    Luxeon Rebel Lens Holder
    Push on/push off switch with black button
    Collimator Lens 8.7 deg viewing angle
    Thin walled Polycarbonate 40" long

I'm also making a hilt out of PVC, its very basic. Following this tutorial: http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com...st-page/page23
    I have it connected to a Duracell MN21 Alkaline Battery.

I was doing a proof-of-concept by wiring everything up with a breadboard earlier, and here's what the LED looks like inside the tube (with and without filter):
    https://www.dropbox.com/sc/s8obodh04...lm-wblwbe6Pqia

I've ordered cellophane and am waiting on that to come in, so I should be able to use it to diffuse some of the light and keep it in the blade.

Here are my questions:
    - With the cellophane wrap, will the saber be lit enough, or are there any other big problems? I don't need crazy brightness, just some degree of purple light throughout the blade. Right now it's really bad (in the pictures, the light exits the blade immediately)
    - Is this LED okay? I realized that there may have been a better choice LED for color filters, but can I work with this or not?