Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My first build i need help

Default My first build i need help

Hello all.

I have been lurking on the forums for the past year and recently signed up. i think i have a decent idea of what to get and how to put it into action to have a basic functioning saber. i have opted out of using a sound board partly because they are expensive and also because it seems a little frightening when i have zero experience with any of this.

i have put together a parts list and would appreciate feedback. here it goes.

for the hilt-
    MPS Pommel style 4
    hilt style 3 w/ Machine Guarded style switch hole
    MHS choke style 1 short
    MHSV1 Blade Holder Style 9
    MPS insert style 12
    mps clip
    Drill & Tap Hole (8-32) - for blade retention
    8-32 x .3" anodized thumb screw
    LED "Corbin style" Battle blade 1" OD (36 inches)

for the Electronics
    MWS Guarded Style Latching Switches
    Luxeon Tri-Rebel Star (RBlue/Green/Red)
    Star thermal tape pad
    18deg Tri-Rebel/Cree Star Lens
    MHS Heat Sink V3
    BuckPuck 700mA 4-wire
    7.4v Li-ion 1050mAh 14650 Battery Pack
    3.7V-14.8V Li-Ion Smart charger
    Tamiya to JST charger adapter ???
    JST Extension Red/Black 24 AWG
    JST Male connector 24AWG Red/Black
    JST Female connector 24AWG Red/Black

Misc.
    1/16" Heatshrink tubing
    synthetic grease
    17 black o-rings

also worth noting i want a purple blade.

thanks in advance for any feedback

First off, Welcome to the Forums.

Your list looks pretty good to me. You don't need the buckpuck. You will want to wired your red and blue in parallel, and resistor the red. You can get by with a 3.7V 18650 battery. It would give you a longer run time, and you may want to consider some type of chassis to keep the battery pack from rattling around inside your hilt.
    TCSS MODERATOR
    All n00bs READ these first (PLEASE)!!!:
    1. Forum Guidelines
    2. FJK’s “Down and Dirty” guide to Ohm’s Law