Thread: Tips for metalworking / layering?

Blog Entries

Default Tips for metalworking / layering?

I worked on an outside layer (shroud) today. It looks ok, but not as precise as I'd like. I want cleaner lines and greater symmetry. I studied madcow's tutorial on shroud work, which was helpful. Any other tips on making shrouds? I have a Dremmel and a bench grinder, but I'm finding that a hack saw and hand file produce smoother, cleaner results. But I don't know what I'm doing. How do you guys make your shrouds look so good?

image.jpg
    image.jpg[
    ATTACH=CONFIG]10771[/ATTACH]
    Attached Images Attached Images

Its a combination of everything you listed IMHO..

a dremel for bulk removal and quick cuts,.. and unless you have a mill, most everyone uses files and whatnot to fine tune those rough cuts.

I used to cut inside the line.. and then file/sand my way 'too' it to finish it off to get straight lines..etc

dont rush the dremel, let it do the work for you. (and hold it so it doesnt jump out of the cut)

Hand File + MUCH patience+practice=great results.
    Darth Flatulous

Echoing some of the comments already posted... cut (slowly and carefully) wide of where you want the final edge to be, hand file it to finish, then sand, sand, sand. Get your feet set, keep a firm grip on the dremel, and let it slowly do the job for you. Don't rush! I like the hacksaw for cross cuts, and the dremel for rip cuts. There is no right way to do it, it's just whatever works for you... And yes, practice practice practice on some "scrap" shroud material.