Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Orange Blade Color

Default Orange Blade Color

1) I know you can Mix (with a more advanced Soundcard, or 'manually' with resistors) an RGB LED (like a tri-rebel) using R&G. I'm looking to avoid this, as I'm using a NB2 and the process of fine tuning resistances is more work then I would like to undertake, even just in parellel, with two resistors (unless I'm mistaken and it really is just that easy)
    I've bookmarked Obi1's "Color mixing with a NB1.0" Thread, and while I get the idea (and you could get practically ANY color), I'm a bit new to the whole electronics thing, and he didn't post "noob" level instructions!
    2) I've searched for 'orange blades' in the forums, and the most recent results (with pics) are 2-3 years old (and I know the LED technology had changed).
    3) a google definition search of the color 'Amber' suggests and orangey look, but I see pretty Yellow looking Blades using Amber LEDs (more forum searches). Leaving "bins" out of the discussion (I've read up on that here as well, and I know you can't choose), typically, how "orange" does an Amber Rebel look?
    4) there are also "red-orange" rebel LEDs, and I also wonder how "orange" they are (or are they more red)?
    5) I've looked into sourcing an LED directly from Luxeon, and I wonder if red-orange is too red, and Amber is to yellow, could you get a Red-Orange/Amber/White tri-rebel, and wire the two in parallel, to get a decent orange (and save white for FOC)?

I rather learn from those who may have more experience with this then I, as popping off $20 custom Tri-Rebels is a bit expensive for trial & error testing!

Thanks!

You might wind this thread interesting from over @ FX; the basic theory would be the same for the tri-rebs while the led color would have slight variations from the LEDEngine discussed. http://www.fx-sabers.com/forum/index....msg481818#new

The amber rebels are very yellow. I've not used a RO yet.