Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: New guy odd setup/ request

Default New guy odd setup/ request

Ok guys here's the story I'm new to this but a good friend of mine has a 7 year old son who is terminally Ill with a rare inoperable brain tumor. So come his 8th birthday January 26th we are planning to take him to Disneyland and he will have his own lightsaber. Because of his age and condition we are wanting to make a very small and light weight expensive flashlight. So please help me in anyway you can. He's wanting a small Yoda (his favorite character) like saber that just lights up and do to only having motor control on one side of his body will be a single handed saber.

Body:
    Pommel style 1
    4 inch extension tube
    Blade holder style 23 w/ tap service 8-32

Electronics:
    Spst latching guarded switch
    700ma Buck Puck
    Rebel star LED & mhs heat sink in royal blue
    LED "tcss style" battle blade 28-32 inches undecided

I know the obvious thing I am missing is a battery which is why I need some advice I was thinking of running a A23 style battery setup here are the specs:
    A23 12v 55 mah each I'll be using 4 of those dimensions for the battery holder is 1.41 inches long, .98 inches high and 1.04 wide. I'm just not sure this will provide enough power

My other thought was a E90 battery setup:
    E90 is 1.5v 400 mah each the 4 of those would be 12v 1600 mah the holder measures 1.45x1.08x1.08

Any other input is greatly appreciated as I'm green the the ways of lightsaber building.

First of all my heart goes out to that child and his family. Any little joy you can bring him at this time priceless. I have a 3 yr old son and could not even imagine the hardship.