Thread: First Saber. Help help!

Unhappy First Saber. Help help!

I purchased one of Madcow's Ascend stunt sabers with the hopes of upgrading it myself later on. I have finally started on the upgrade but I have run into a major problem. I wired everything together (apart from the LED, I'm waiting on a resistor in the mail) because I was anxious to see how the Nano Biscotte v2 sounded. Last night, after I finished, I kicked it on and everything was working perfectly! I was ecstatic! So I set it down and went to sleep. Here's where my problem is. Woke up, grabbed it, kicked it on, and nothing. No sound. Just this faint clicking noise. Fast-paced clicking. Changes in pitch when I hit the activation button. Also, as soon as it kicks on, the board starts heating up like crazy, almost too hot to touch. So I unplugged it from the battery immediately. Tried it again a little later and as soon as the connection is made to the battery the clicking starts. I am brand new to all of this so I wouldn't be surprised if it turns out to be the dumbest little thing but please help!

Nano Biscotte v2 sound board
    Momentary switch
    3.7v Li-ion rechargeable battery
    TCSS Premium Speaker

I used this as my wiring guide
    nb1.jpg

The only difference in my wiring is that I do not have an LED wired up yet. I just have an open wire running from the positive line. I've been thinking that maybe that is the problem, just having an open wire like that, but it was working last night when I first finished it. So I'm at a loss.