Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Deth's First PVC Saber Build - Custom Circuits

Default Deth's First PVC Saber Build - Custom Circuits

Why do my own circuits when they're available for purchase already? Because I'm outta money!
    I'm building everything custom minus the 2014 Hasbro Mace Windu Electronic Lightsaber soundboard.

The circuitry is all a work in progress... as you can see in my subsequent posts. I welcome help where it is given! In fact... I need some! I can't figure out why the LM3914 isn't getting full voltage when the LEDs are turned on with the soundboard.

Any questions, comments, suggestions, PLEASE don't be shy! I'm new to sabers and welcome all input!

EDIT: I plan on using 3 accent LEDs from the soundboard, I do plan on adding a battery charge port, and the lm3914(not 1314) is currently hooked up to gnd instead of 7.2V (+). my bad on this picture...

Attachment 9904
    Attachment 9905
    Attachment 9906
    Attachment 9907
    SaberCircuitV1.2.jpg

EDIT: Made a simpler drawing as a general overview below. I will break out each component separately.

SaberCircuit-V1.3.jpg

Problems so far:
    1. The pulsating 670nm (connected to R2) is not working when the other 670nm LEDs are connected. I suspected this was because as the 'R2' LED current was down, the other LEDs suck it all up, not allowing the 'R2' LED to conduct. I thought by adding a P-type mosfet and a 'dummy load' resistor (R1), I would be able to keep an amount of current separated from the other 2 LEDs. The diode and R5 resistor are for having a minimum on amount for the 'R2' LED, which works great without the other LEDs connected.

2. My volt meter drops quite a bit of voltage when I turn everything on. ie when everything's off, I have around 6 LEDs lit. When I turn on the circuit, it goes down to about 3 LEDs.

Does anyone see anything wrong with the overall circuit design that would cause these issues? Any suggestions?

Thanks!