Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Tri Rebel Questions

Default Tri Rebel Questions

So long story short, I have 3 boys. 4, 7, 9. We just got done watching all the star wars movies and now everything's turned into a saber (wooden spoons, my tools, sticks, you name it)...and they've all broken. I decided to jump on youtube to see if anyone's built a saber worth dueling....which led me here; and I've been reading for days. I've soldered SMD LED's on the X-Box to change colors, and fixed tons of electronics over the years, so this is all right up my alley. My issue is I have no experience with sabers and I have to build these to be fairly equal so no one is less than the other (might actually cause a civil war in my house if this we're to happen). Anyway, I've got it figured down to tri rebels, Nano Biscotte, Power Extender for FoC, FoC from white LED. The part where I get messed up is which tri rebels to get. I see the tri rebels on the Luxeon website put out more lumens than the one's Tim sells, but why if that's the case does he not sell them? I have to be missing something here? These are the ones I have picked out on Luxeons website with there appropriate specs. I know not to link outside websites, and FWIW, I'll be buying everything else from Tim anyway. Any opinions on why these are bad choices are appreciated, and remember, I'm choosing these to be fairly equal in design, probably not very easy considering three kids, three different favorite colors.

All 3 powered by 3.7v 3400mAh with Nano Biscotte

1st.
    Cool White (180 lm) / Green (161 lm) / Green (161 lm)
    White is 3.2FV at 700mA (1ohm R)
    Green is 3.5FV at 1000mA (2x 1ohm R)?

2nd.
    ANSI White (200 lm) / Deep Red (580mW) / Deep Red (580mW)
    White is 3.5FV at 1000mA (1ohm R)
    Deep Red is 2.8FV at 700mA (2x 1.5ohm R)?

3rd.
    Neutral White (180 lm) / Royal-Blue (840mW) / Royal-Blue (840mW)
    White is 3.2FV at 700mA (1ohm R)
    Royal Blue is 3.51FV at 1000mA (1ohm R)