Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: The Ranger- a Graflex style build w/ NB V2

Default The Ranger- a Graflex style build w/ NB V2

Hello all,
    This is my second sound build. It is my first build doing the board soldering myself (no MWS card this time). It is also built using the brand new Nano Biscotte V2.

I wanted to make a Graflex style saber. I love the blade holder 20 and wanted to build something around that. However, I also wanted to add a little bit of my own style to it, so this saber is not an exact recreation. Without further delay, I present...The Ranger.

I have always seen the Graflex style of saber as a rugged and tactical type. In comparison to the other, more elegant styles of hilts, the Graflex always looked more utilitarian to me because of the many knobs and buttons. I picture it as the Swiss Army knife of lightsabers.

Let?s start from the rear. I used pommel 2 with insert 12 to give it that movie look.

I tried the windshield wiper style grip but did not like it. It felt clumsy in the hand and made the hilt sit funny in my saber stand. The second time it rolled out, I had enough. I decided to use a piece of MHS sleeve material and made a simple sleeve style grip. This makes the hilt a lot better to hold without robbing from the impression of the original movie hilt.

I used my favorite switch box 6 and drilled and tapped the recharge port hole. I mounted it with black screws and used the gold switch which I feel gives it a little different look. I also rolled the switch box up at a 45 degree angle. This makes the hilt much more ergonomic in my hands. I used the Mylar sticker and tucked it under the switch box.