Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: CF 4.2 saber dropped and now won't function

Default CF 4.2 saber dropped and now won't function

I came into possession of an awesome saber a few months ago and have loved every minute swinging it around, dueling with it, and showing it off to friends. While recently trying some new spin tricks, I dropped the saber and it shut off. The pommel hit the floor hard, the sound immediately went silent, and the led stayed on for about a second and then went dark.

I have built several sabers with MR, Ultrasound, NB, and Obsidian boards so I have a lot of mid-level experience with saber electronics, but nothing with the complexity of of my newest saber... CF 4.2 with LED Engin RGGB (GB for sky blue blade and GR for FoC), power extender, blue AV switch, aux switch, recharge port. I took pictures of the wiring and then took the saber apart and rewired it all back together, but it still doesn't work. When I pull the kill key I can here the speaker click as it gets power, but that's the only sign of life. After taking it apart a second time I noticed that the sd card does not click into place and longer and that the sd card holder on the board is slightly bent. This may be my problem.

Has anyone ever had this happen and fixed the card holder? Can anyone think of a different issue that may be the cause of my saber's death?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

We would need to see good, high quality, detailed pictures of the board, SD card area, etc.

You may likely have to send the card out to get repaired (which may mean removing all the wires), or have an experienced smith repair the saber for you.
    TCSS MODERATOR
    All n00bs READ these first (PLEASE)!!!:
    1. Forum Guidelines
    2. FJK’s “Down and Dirty” guide to Ohm’s Law