Thread: Battery questions.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Battery questions.

Hello

I'm new to saber building. I introduced myself in my previous post where y detail a little my fisrt saber project. (you can read here: http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com...e&goto=newpost )

My question is about battery.
    As i told in my previous mail, i'm powering my sabers with 3xAAA alkalines (4,5V) so I estimated a 40 minutes duration of the power as I'm using a 1500mah, 4,5V LED's.
    Problem is that I want to get more working time but I have some problems.

First of them is space, Although I can add another pack fo 3xAAA in parallel (so i can get x2 time), it's not the best option since Alkalines cost is so high to change them every 80 minutes.

Second is that I can't use rechargeable batteries as they give only 1,2V so 3 batteries will give me only 3,6 V and my leds work at 4,5V, yeah I know there are some alkaline rechargeables at 1,5 V but they are just 800mah and reviews told that most of them doesn't have even half of that.

Third is that I can't use 7,4 V LiIon batteries as I want to use nano Biscotte that support as much 5,5 V I think. I would like to use PC but it's a lot of money for now, maybe in the future.

So... I'm obviously not an expert in batteries but I readed a lot (really a lot) and I still have no idea of a possiblesolution... except using another soundboard that could work with more volts that nano biscotte (maybe I'm using not the best leds for this board, but as I said in my first post, getting materials in Spain at afordable cost is hard)

Use 4x NiMH batteries for a 4.8v pack. It's the only viable option that fits your requirements. You'll save money on batteries, and can easily keep a few charged batteries around as spares. If you have the room for a 6xAAA pack, you should have plenty of room for a 4xAA pack.