Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What's wrong in this Pic?

Default What's wrong in this Pic?

IMG_2322.jpgIMG_2324.jpgIMG_2326.jpg

I am a first time saber builder/solder'er/electronic fooler wither (as if that wasn't obvious) and thought I would just jump in head first after reading forums looking at wiring diagrams and watching vids. Well....... It didn't work, when I press the switch nothing happens >< I guess it might be a problem with the Recharge port? I was tring to wire it up to not work as a kill key. I thought maybe the wires were switched to the LED but I tried it both ways. I can take the LED put it in an allready premade saber and it works fine so I know it's atleast good.

all of the shown parts are as Follows:

MWS BuckPuck
    SPST Short Latching AV Switch
    2AA Battery Holder
    2 Li-ion Batterys (14500 3.7V 900mAh)
    2.1mm Power Jack

Any help is greatly appreciated!

OK - now that you have created a puzzle for us all:

When debugging wiring issues, the best course of action is to divide & conquer.

The net result is you will now be forced to do what you should have done to start with: separate it all and add one thing back on at a time!

To start with, use JUST these three sets of screw terminals on the buck-puck circuit board:

1) Connect the battery into the two screw terminals for the battery (Polarity matters).
    2) Connect the Switch into the two screw terminals for the switch (Polarity does not matter here). <-- this connection really matters - without it connected your LED will never light up
    3) Connect the blade LED to the two screw terminals for the blade LED (Polarity matters).

Once you have these three connections done, you should be able to press the button and have the blade LED light up.

Then, check back and lets talk about adding the recharge port properly.
    Last edited by hedgehog1; 03-09-2013 at 01:14 AM.