Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Lightsaber Knife

Default Lightsaber Knife

Hi, I'm interested in making a lightsaber knife, with a blade length of about 6 inches.
    What is the shortest possible hilt size that would be possible in this situation? Could I ask TCSS to cut short an existing main body?
    And would the Modular Wiring System work and fit in this situation?

I'm relatively new to the scene, so this'll be my first project. Any ideas? (:

You could do a short saber with a single li-ion battery a buckpuck or resistor & a switch. as far as shortness? I would think you could build something in the 6-7" range and have it work correctly, sound would be a whole nother matter. Here is a 6" Tanto blade that I made out of polycarbonate that I put into my prophecy hilt
    Last edited by DarthAlice; 04-10-2012 at 05:38 PM.

Council Member
    Jedi Master

If you have the skills, you can make one really small. A while ago, I made a tiny saber out of the handle from a discarded Otoscope. Here's the vid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUKrkVLMWu0

The shortest I can figure for a saber if you're using MHS parts is around 6", probably closer to 7". That will get you a blade holder, pommel, and 4" or 5" Double Female, with enough room for the batteries, one switch, and heat-sink.

Now, if you want my opinion on aesthetics? It won't work. Even if you use a 3/4" blade, the hilt diameter and overall size compared to the blade length is just gonna look somewhat goofy. It could work with either a longer blade (for my tastes, around 12"; 10" at the minimum) or if you can fabricate your own hilt and LED mounting system using a much narrower and shorter tube. Even then, with a 3/4" blade at 6" long, I'm afraid it's going to look kinda like a toy, or those lightsaber candy dispensers.
    Boring conversation anyway...

Council Member
    Jedi Council Member