Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st Saber Prject Layout Concept. Let me know what you think

Question 1st Saber Prject Layout Concept. Let me know what you think

So i have been toying around with the builder for a few years is seems. have always wanted to build a saber, but didnt like any of the stock hilts and lengths they get to when its all added together. So here is the concept i am looking to build.

The switches protrude down into the section where they're mounted. You may be better off having your PLI mounted 90 degrees, rather than 180, from the switches.

I figured there maybe some space issues. So i figured i would run a smaller battery pack to solve the space issues or the PLI n the switches. Will have to see when i get the parts ordered.
    Still havent got the electronics figured out yet. But as everything i will be a work in progress.

Don't worry about the pommel structure being weak, it is not important. Bigger holes there will give better sound. With 2 of the grip sections space will become a problem. Put more thought into the inside verses the outside before committing to a design.

with my first saber I used two of those gripped extensions and I really got into space problems.
    I had to put the soundboard in the front and the batterypack (2 14500s) in the back section, but I only used one AV-style switch and 2 accent leds in the hilt.
    The size-difference between the normal extensions and the gripped extensions doesn't sound that bad, but it is. I was only able to put one layer of electrical tape around the batterypack, otherwise it would have been too thick to fit inside.
    If you are able to put everything inside the hilt, I think you will be happy with the look of the gripped extensions, but one additional problem is, that the grooves (if you use 2 extensions) are not in one line (as you see on my saber http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com...isfortune-star)

BR bato