Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: CF with LEDENGIN 40w RGB?

Default CF with LEDENGIN 40w RGB?

I have a CF yay! I'm planning now. I'm not sure if this has been done before, though it has been talked about.

After doing MUCH reading here and on FX, this looks correct to me:

But I am by no means an expert with anything to do with electronics.

Because CF can handle up to 11 volts, and the voltage requirement of the 40w green (the most voltage hungry) is 13.5@1A, power to the board must be regulated. Essentially I'm treating it like you would when using a cheap Hasbro board.

Potentially, the resistors could be swapped out for buckpucks or similar, with the potentiometers controlling them.

What I am not sure of is ... a few things actually hehe.

Number one, does my wiring look right?

Two, is a 9 volt regulator a good choice?

Three, are 15Kohm pots a good choice?

Four, am I missing anything? (Aside from the rest of the components like switches, speaker, accent LED's. These get wired to the CF as normal.)

Hey. I'm thinking of doing something similar. I don't know if that setup will work. I think its too much power for a kill key setup. The pots would have to be 10 watters to keep from burning up, and those are HUGE.

Some obstacles to overcome.
    1. Batteries. If you want more than 15 min run time you 18650s or similar size.
    2. VF for blue & green are 12v. 3 li ions will have a end of charge voltage of 7.3v. Not enough!
    3. Heat... Extra cooling necessary.
    4. Optics... and the star is a 28mm not 20!!!
    5. Something is needed to switch all that power and were running out of room!

Hmmmmmm....

The switches surely wouldn't have to be very highly rated, because they are still using the small signal from the board.
    Also, I would suggest some form of heatsinking for the power extender running the main LED. With extended use those small FET packages can generate a reasonable amount of heat.