Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New Saber Idea Design

Default New Saber Idea Design

I know i'm new to the forums, but being a graphic designer my mind starts racing with ideas until i can put them down on paper or pixel. So i took the file into Illustrator and drew over the top of it

I probably wont get to building or working on this for the next month or so but i'll probably be buying the parts over the course of a few weeks. I wanted you guys to tell me what details on the outside of the saber i am missing.

Let me know and i'll draw them into my design so that i can properly see what it needs or what needs to be moved. I dont know how i'm gonna do the electronics yet as i am NOT one of those guys yet who know his ohms and his amps

Last edited by Natesroom; 07-14-2011 at 09:21 AM.

Are you going to incorporate sound? If so, you might want to think about what kind/where to put the AUX button. Blade retention screw? You'll want to make sure Tim knows exactly where you want it so things line up. What kind of belt attachment? Covertec or D-Ring? If covertec, then also be mindful of exactly where you want it for proper alignment. Internal arrangement of electronics is also critical. Sound card, batteries, speaker, easy access to SD card if using PC or CF. Lots of variables to consider. But you only learn this stuff by doing. The electronics are not too difficult. If you get a Plecter Labs card, they have very good documentation that will help you with the wiring. I found it challenging and fun to learn.
    "So he drove out the man; and he placed at the east of the garden of Eden Cherubims, and a flaming sword which turned every way, to keep the way of the tree of life." -- Genesis 3:24 Lightsabers are real.